What’s Next?

Have you considered your immediate plans after graduation? Recently, I have been giving the matter some thought. There are several avenues that I would like to explore. For instance, there are a number of resources in the medical coding and billing field. I would like to check some of them out more thoroughly and determine what publications and e-Newsletters I might find useful. There are online medical dictionaries available as well.

I am also still looking at professional organizations such as AAPC (American Academy of Professional Coders) and AHIMA (American Health Information Management Association) as I have plans to join one of them. Both of these associations have a lot to offer, including certification exams and study guides. My future plans definitely include certification at some point.

Another area I am looking into is volunteer opportunities. We have several in the region where I live. Some of these do not have anything to do with medical coding and billing. However, the experience would still be good for me and volunteer activities can always be added to a resume. Volunteer work enables you to meet people. Some of these individuals could be future references. It is also possible to make new connections in your field and network. Internships should not be ruled out if you can find one. I haven’t come across any where I live but I haven’t ruled out the possibility. The right opportunity might be just around the corner!IMG_20140915_125914

I would like to become more active on some of the social media sites. In addition, there are different sites where you can become more involved with others in your profession, such as LinkedIn. I haven’t had much of an opportunity to do so of late. There are various ways to post one’s resume online as well. Perhaps you read about some of the ways you can conduct your job search on USCI’s online community page. You can find lots of useful information there, too!

My more immediate plans include touching base with some of the people I contacted previously as well as hopefully making a few more new connections. I would also like to do some informational interviews in the near future. My plans would not be complete if I did not begin preparations for the certification exam. I expect to review my class material and study on a regular basis. I think it is important to keep the material fresh in mind.

I also feel strongly about keeping up with current news in my field. If possible, I would like to do so on a regular basis. I think that it would be beneficial to pencil in some time for this just like you would do for an appointment. That way, you are more likely to follow through with your plans.

While graduation may close one chapter, another one is beginning. As you can see, there are lots of opportunities awaiting us all!

Leave a comment