How Attitude Affects Your Success

Susan 3-24With Easter and Spring come hope, new life, and, in some cases, a new attitude. We feel better about things. There is little room for negativity. It’s a time for growth and change. We might think about how we can improve on a personal level as well.

What about your education? Have you thought about your attitude toward your studies? You could be enthusiastic and eager to continue. Maybe you are ready to quit. A poor quiz grade or difficult subject matter might lead to a negative outlook. Perhaps you simply take your program for granted. Your lessons are something else you have to cross off of your to-do list.

Your long-term goals are a source of motivation. Your desire to graduate and embark on a new career keep you striving for success. But what about the here and now? Are you ready to dive into your studies on a regular basis? Your attitude can directly affect your progress or lack thereof. It can at times be difficult to tackle your studies. When this happens, I have found it helpful to just start working on a lesson. I might tell myself that I will just read one section or work on a practice review exercise. However, once I begin, I find that I will go further and accomplish more than what I originally planned to do. My energy level picks up and I am no longer feeling as tired as I was when I first started to look at the material.

Attitude can impede your progress if you give in to negative feelings. Rather than allow a negative experience to weigh you down, look for something positive to take from it. See the situation for what it is—a learning experience. Don’t put off your studies and don’t ignore your feelings. Acknowledge the fact that you are disappointed and/or upset. Your feelings are valid. It is okay if you are feeling frustrated. Then turn around and challenge yourself to do better next time. Use this as motivation to keep yourself on track. Keep moving forward even if you have to take small steps. You will reach your goal if you keep working towards it.

A good attitude can lead to success in your studies and later in your career. If you feel that your attitude needs an adjustment, now might be a good time to work on it. After all, this is a season of fresh starts and new beginnings!

Leave a comment